Change Change Change

I had planned on this blog being about the changes between ICD-9 and ICD-10. I had an assignment in my Business Communications class dealing with infographics. I was trying to find an infographic that has something to do with Medical Coding. I was not successful.

I was successful in finding an interesting infographic at http://www.juststand.org/Portals/3/images/JustStandInfoGraphicV3.png that pointed out the health problems associated with sitting for long periods of time. I like, most medical coders sit for at least 8 hours every day I am at work.

“Sitting Disease” is now a term used by medical professionals to refer to the long periods of physical inactivity and its negative consequences.

Women who are inactive and sit over 6 hours a day were 94% more likely to die during the time period studied that those who were physically active and sat less than 3 hours a day. I find this fact concerning because almost all medical coders I know are women. I would not consider what we do as inactive because we are typing on our keyboards but I am sure the number is still higher than it should be.

I found another infographic at http://dailyinfographic.com/keeping-good-posture-at-work-infographic that explained how we should pay attention to our posture. Reasons mentioned to sit up straight included injury prevention, sharper thinking, faster metabolism and a libido boost.

You should do a posture check when sitting for extended periods of time. Stand with your back and back of your head to a wall. Pay attention to where your chin is when you stand like this and try to keep it there when you sit back down and resume your work. Another thing you can do during a posture check is to draw your shoulder blades down your back and bring your chest forward.

I want to leave you with the 20/20/20 rule. You should take a break every 20 minutes and look at something 20 feet away for 20 seconds. This will give your eyes a break from staring at your computer screen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

